The name “Wismar” is first mentioned in the year 1147, the resulting 20 years later Knytlinga saga, when the Danish king Sven arrived in “Wizmar Havn” – Wismar Bay. The name “Port” is misleading here. It could be, if the legend is true, only be a mooring, that was close of the “aqua Wissemara”. The city name “Wismar” is not unique, even if the deed of 1167, about 60 years before the city’s founding pulls on a zoom. It was a deed of Henry the Lion confirming the determination of the boundaries of the diocese of Ratzeburg, where for the first time documentary evidence of the name Wismar as aqua Wissemara que dicitur, ad Aquem Wissemaram is mentioned as the eastern border of the diocese. There is a small river running east of Wismar.
In the Thirty Years’ War, Sweden Wismar was occupied in 1632 by the Peace of Westphalia in 1648 and fell along with the island of Poel and the Office Neukloster as an imperial fief to the Swedish crown. As of 1653, the city was the seat of the Upper Tribunal of the Supreme Court of the Swedish territories south of the Baltic Sea, which included the Duchy of Verden until 1712 and Swedish Pomerania until 1815. In the Scanian War of Wismar Danish troops Attacked in December 13th , 1675 and until November 1680 Wismar was occupied by the Danes